Banks
Global Bank Crypto Adoption Tracker
What banks are verifiably doing in stablecoins, tokenized deposits, custody and trading — with regulatory, technical and commercial status kept separate, because an authorisation is not a launch and a pilot is not a product.
- initiatives
- 56
- institutions
- 56
- with primary evidence
- 24
- sources
- 82
Bank scorecards → · Jurisdictions · What changed this week
Last verified 2026-10-24 (sources re-fetched and quote-matched by scripts/verify-tracker.mjs before each deploy).
56 of 56 initiatives · sorted by latest status change
Stablecoin issuance · United Kingdom / Hong Kong
HSBC
HSBC Hong Kong stablecoin (HSBC RedCoin)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2026-04-10
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2026-10-23
- PrimaryHong Kong Monetary Authority ↗2026-04-10
- Official institutionalHSBC ↗2026-09-30
- Official institutionalHSBC ↗2026-10-23
Last change 2026-10-23 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (3)
- 2026-04-10 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. HKMA granted stablecoin issuer licence.
- 2026-09-30 · commercial: Announced / exploring. Product named, phased rollout announced.
- 2026-10-23 · commercial: Announced / exploring → Live — commercial, within explicit scope. HSBC RedCoin (RCHKD) available from today on PayMe by HSBC; over 3.3 million PayMe users able to activate a wallet in the coming days.
regulatory note: HKMA stablecoin issuer licence (primary record).
commercial note: Available from 23 Oct 2026 on PayMe by HSBC; wallet activation for PayMe users "in the coming days"; HSBC HK Mobile Banking App and tokenised investment products planned "later this year".
Tokenized deposits · United States
SoFi
SoFi Earn (SOFIE) consumer tokenized deposit
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2026-10-22
- Official institutionalSoFi Technologies (via Business Wire on Nasdaq.com) ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2026-10-22 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (1)
- 2026-10-22 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Launch announced; rolling out to SoFi Crypto members now through November.
regulatory note: SoFi Bank, N.A. is a national bank regulated by the OCC and SOFIE is described as FDIC-insured up to applicable limits; no product-specific approval record reviewed.
commercial note: Rolling out to SoFi Crypto members now through November, per SoFi.
Tokenized deposits · United States
J.P. Morgan (Kinexys)
JPM Coin (JPMD) USD deposit token on public blockchains
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-11-12
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-11-12
- Official institutionalJ.P. Morgan ↗2025-11-12
- Official institutionalJ.P. Morgan ↗2026-10-19
Last change 2026-10-19 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (2)
- 2025-11-12 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. JPMD made available to institutional clients on a public blockchain.
- 2026-10-19 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties → Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Scope change: extended to Ethereum, its second public blockchain (status unchanged).
regulatory note: No regulator approval record reviewed; deposit token issued by a bank under existing banking licence (not verified for this entry).
commercial note: Available to institutional clients only per J.P. Morgan.
Stablecoin issuance · Japan
MUFG Bank · SMBC · Mizuho Bank
Three-megabank jointly issued yen stablecoin (trust-type, PSA)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2026-10-16
- commercial
- Announced / exploring2026-06-10
- PrimaryFinancial Services Agency (Japan) ↗2025-11-07
- Official institutionalMitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking (joint release) ↗2025-11-07
- Official institutionalMizuho Bank, MUFG Bank, SMBC (joint release) ↗2026-06-10
- Official institutionalMitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking (joint release) ↗2026-10-16
Last change 2026-10-16 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (3)
- 2025-11-07 · technical: Developing / partnership established. PoC approved for FSA FinTech PoC Hub support; Progmat provides infrastructure.
- 2026-06-10 · commercial: Announced / exploring. Banks state aim to launch live transactions in FY2026 and form a council.
- 2026-10-16 · technical: Developing / partnership established → Pilot / proof of concept. PoC (17–23 July 2026) completed.
regulatory note: FSA selected the PoC as a supported project of its FinTech PoC Hub / Payment Innovation Project (Nov 2025); this is support, not an authorisation.
technical note: PoC conducted 17–23 July 2026; completion announced 16 Oct 2026.
commercial note: The three banks aim to launch live transactions during fiscal year 2026.
Custody & trading · Germany
Deutsche Bank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2026-10-12
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2026-10-12 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2026-10-12 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · United States
BNY
BNY Digital Asset Custody (US; EU under MiCA)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2022-10-11
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2026-10-08
Last change 2026-10-08 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (2)
- 2022-10-11 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. US platform live for select clients (bitcoin, ether).
- 2026-10-08 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties → Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Scope change: expanded to select EU institutions under MiCA (status unchanged).
regulatory note: BNY states its EU entity was added to ESMA's MiCA register in July 2026; the register entry itself has not been reviewed for this row.
commercial note: Select clients only, per BNY.
Tokenized deposits · United States
Citi
Citi Token Services for Cash
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-10-10
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2026-09-28
Last change 2026-09-28 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (3)
- 2023-09-18 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Created and piloted for cash management and trade finance.
- 2024-10-10 · commercial: Pilot / proof of concept → Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Moved from pilot to live commercial solution.
- 2026-09-28 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope → Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Scope change: Japan and UAE added (seven markets).
commercial note: Live in seven markets per Citi (Sep 2026).
Crypto services · Austria
Raiffeisen Bank International (RBI)
Group-wide digital asset services with Bitpanda Enterprise (CEE)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Developing / partnership established2026-09-23
- Official institutionalRaiffeisen Bank International ↗2026-09-23
Last change 2026-09-23 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-09-23 · commercial: Developing / partnership established. Group-wide partnership framework announced.
commercial note: Group-wide framework; rollout progressive and market by market.
Tokenized deposits · Belgium (global)
Swift · HSBC · Standard Chartered
Swift shared blockchain ledger for tokenised-deposit cross-border payments
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2026-08-20
- commercial
- Unknown
Last change 2026-08-20 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (2)
- 2026-07-08 · technical: Developing / partnership established. Ledger ready for initial use.
- 2026-08-20 · technical: Developing / partnership established → Live — restricted / specific counterparties. First live bank-to-bank tokenised deposit transaction (HSBC–Standard Chartered). A single live transaction; not commercial availability.
technical note: One live transaction between two banks; not a commercial service.
Tokenized deposits · United Kingdom / Hong Kong
HSBC
HSBC Tokenised Deposit Service (TDS)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2026-08-20
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2026-08-20
- Official institutionalHSBC ↗2026-08-20
Last change 2026-08-20 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2026-08-20 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Status as stated in HSBC release (first date this tracker recorded it, not launch date).
commercial note: HSBC states TDS is live in six markets.
Custody & trading · Greece
Piraeus Bank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution, reception & transmission of orders, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2026-08-07
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2026-08-07 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2026-08-07 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Stablecoin issuance · United Arab Emirates
First Abu Dhabi Bank
DDSC dirham stablecoin (with IHC, Sirius)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2026-07-04
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- Official institutionalDDSC press release (distributed via Zawya) ↗2026-07-04
Last change 2026-07-04 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2026-07-04 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. CBUAE NOC per issuer press release.
regulatory note: CBUAE No Objection Certificate as stated in the issuer’s press release; regulator record not reviewed (needs review).
Stablecoin issuance · Netherlands
ING · UniCredit · BNP Paribas · KBC · Danske Bank · DekaBank · SEB · Raiffeisen Bank International (RBI) · Banca Sella · BBVA · CaixaBank · DZ BANK · Erste Group · Intesa Sanpaolo · Nordea · Piraeus Bank
Qivalis: bank-consortium MiCA euro stablecoin
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Developing / partnership established2025-12-02
- commercial
- Announced / exploring2026-05-19
- Official institutionalUniCredit ↗2025-09-25
- Official institutionalQivalis ↗2025-12-02
- Official institutionalING ↗2026-05-19
- Official institutionalQivalis ↗2026-05-20
Last change 2026-05-20 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (3)
- 2025-09-25 · commercial: Announced / exploring. Nine banks announce a MiCAR-compliant euro stablecoin, expected to be first issued in 2H 2026.
- 2025-12-02 · technical: Developing / partnership established. Qivalis incorporated in Amsterdam; BNP Paribas joined on 1 Dec 2025.
- 2026-05-20 · commercial: Announced / exploring → Announced / exploring. Scope change: 25 more banks join (37 in total), incl. Erste Group, Intesa Sanpaolo, Nordea and Piraeus (status unchanged).
regulatory note: Qivalis states it is pursuing authorisation from De Nederlandsche Bank (DNB) as an Electronic Money Institution; no authorisation record reviewed.
technical note: Amsterdam-domiciled company incorporated; name, leadership and governance announced 2 Dec 2025.
commercial note: Launch planned for the second half of 2026, subject to regulatory approval (per ING).
Custody & trading · Luxembourg
Swissquote Bank Europe
MiCA CASP authorisation (custody, execution, transfer)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2026-04-24
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
- PrimaryAutorité des marchés financiers (France) ↗2026-08-05
- SecondaryLuxembourg for Finance ↗2026-06-30
Last change 2026-04-24 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2026-04-24 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. CSSF authorisation recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register (primary). Upgraded evidence on 2026-10-22: previously sourced only to Luxembourg for Finance.
regulatory note: ESMA register date 24/04/2026; Luxembourg for Finance reports effect from 5 June 2026; AMF record dates French provision from 05/06/2026. Dates differ by source; we show the ESMA register date.
commercial note: Ongoing crypto trading offer is described only in a secondary source; not independently confirmed here.
Tokenized deposits · Australia
NAB
Project Acacia: tokenised term deposit settled with a stablecoin
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2026-04-24
- commercial
- Unknown
- Official institutionalNAB ↗2026-04-24
Last change 2026-04-24 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-04-24 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Proof-of-concept transactions in Project Acacia reported by NAB.
technical note: Proof-of-concept transactions on Imperium Markets' ASIC-licensed marketplace.
Crypto services · South Africa
FNB (FirstRand)
FSCA crypto asset service provider licence (FAIS Category I)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2026-03-31
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryFinancial Sector Conduct Authority ↗2026-03-31
Last change 2026-03-31 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-03-31 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. Listed on FSCA licensed-CASP list (March 2026 edition; earlier licence date not stated).
regulatory note: Listed on the FSCA list of licensed CASPs (March 2026); licence date not stated in the list.
Custody & trading · Spain
CaixaBank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution, reception & transmission of orders, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2026-03-27
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2026-03-27 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2026-03-27 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Tokenized deposits · Malaysia
Maybank
Ringgit tokenised deposits for payments (BNM DAIH)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2026-02-11
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryBank Negara Malaysia ↗2026-07-30
Last change 2026-02-11 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-02-11 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Onboarded to BNM DAIH testing (BNM announcement 11 Feb 2026; list as at 30 Jul 2026).
technical note: Onboarded to Bank Negara Malaysia's Digital Asset Innovation Hub for testing in 2026 in a controlled environment.
Tokenized deposits · Malaysia
CIMB
Tokenised deposits for settlement of tokenised securities (BNM DAIH)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2026-02-11
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryBank Negara Malaysia ↗2026-07-30
Last change 2026-02-11 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-02-11 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Onboarded to BNM DAIH testing (BNM announcement 11 Feb 2026; list as at 30 Jul 2026).
technical note: Onboarded to Bank Negara Malaysia's Digital Asset Innovation Hub for testing in 2026 in a controlled environment.
Stablecoin issuance · United Kingdom
Standard Chartered
Ringgit stablecoin for B2B settlement with Capital A (BNM DAIH)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2026-02-11
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryBank Negara Malaysia ↗2026-07-30
Last change 2026-02-11 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-02-11 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Onboarded to BNM DAIH testing (BNM announcement 11 Feb 2026; list as at 30 Jul 2026).
technical note: Onboarded to Bank Negara Malaysia's Digital Asset Innovation Hub for testing in 2026 in a controlled environment.
Crypto services · Denmark
Danske Bank
Bitcoin and ether ETPs for customers in Sweden
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2026-02-11
- Official institutionalDanske Bank Sverige ↗2026-02-11
Last change 2026-02-11 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-02-11 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Crypto ETPs offered in Sweden.
commercial note: Offered from 11 Feb 2026; initially three ETPs.
Tokenized deposits · United Kingdom
Lloyds Banking Group
Sterling tokenised deposits on Canton Network (tokenised gilt purchase)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2026-01-20
- commercial
- Unknown
- Official institutionalLloyds Banking Group ↗2026-01-20
Last change 2026-01-20 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-01-20 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. First tokenised-deposit transaction on a public blockchain completed.
technical note: One completed transaction on a public blockchain.
Custody & trading · United States
State Street
State Street Digital Asset Platform
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2026-01-15
- commercial
- Unknown
- Official institutionalState Street (via Business Wire / Nasdaq) ↗2026-01-15
Last change 2026-01-15 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-01-15 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Digital Asset Platform launch announced.
technical note: Platform launched as foundational build for tokenized products; client availability details not stated.
Custody & trading · Belgium
KBC
Bitcoin and ether trading on Bolero (MiCA CASP notification)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Announced / exploring2026-01-15
- Official institutionalKBC ↗2026-01-15
Last change 2026-01-15 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2026-01-15 · commercial: Announced / exploring. Launch on Bolero announced for the week of 16 February 2026.
regulatory note: KBC states it submitted a full CASP notification to the competent authority; the ESMA/FSMA register entry was not reviewed (ESMA register unreachable at review time).
commercial note: Announced for the week of 16 Feb 2026; actual go-live not independently confirmed.
Custody & trading · Germany
DZ BANK
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-12-23
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-12-23 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-12-23 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · Liechtenstein
Bank Frick
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-12-23
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-12-23 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-12-23 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · Liechtenstein
LGT Bank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution, reception & transmission of orders, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-12-19
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-12-19 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-12-19 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · United States
PNC
PNC Private Bank direct spot bitcoin trading (Coinbase CaaS)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-12-09
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-12-09
- Official institutionalPNC Bank (via PR Newswire) ↗2025-12-09
Last change 2025-12-09 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2025-12-09 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Direct spot bitcoin trading launched for eligible PNC Private Bank clients.
commercial note: Eligible PNC Private Bank clients; PNC plans to expand to additional client segments.
Crypto services · Spain
Openbank
Openbank retail crypto trading (Germany, Spain)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-09-16
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-11-11
- Official institutionalBanco Santander ↗2025-09-16
- Official institutionalOpenbank ↗2025-11-11
Last change 2025-11-11 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (2)
- 2025-09-16 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Launched for all Openbank customers in Germany.
- 2025-11-11 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope → Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Scope change: launched in Spain (status unchanged).
regulatory note: See the separate Openbank MiCA Art. 60 row for the regulatory record.
commercial note: Germany from 16 Sep 2025; Spain from 11 Nov 2025.
Tokenized assets · Switzerland
UBS
UBS Tokenize: uMINT tokenized money market fund
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-11-04
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2024-11-01
Last change 2025-11-04 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (2)
- 2024-11-01 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. uMINT launched, available through authorised distribution partners.
- 2025-11-04 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Live in-production tokenized fund workflow executed (Chainlink DTA standard).
technical note: In-production on-chain subscription and redemption completed with DigiFT as distributor (Nov 2025).
commercial note: Available through authorised distribution partners, per UBS.
Crypto services · Finland
Nordea
Execution-only access to a bitcoin ETP (CoinShares)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Announced / exploring2025-10-30
- Official institutionalNordea ↗2025-10-30
Last change 2025-10-30 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2025-10-30 · commercial: Announced / exploring. ETP access announced for December 2025.
commercial note: Availability announced for December 2025; go-live not independently confirmed.
Stablecoin issuance · France
Societe Generale-FORGE
EUR CoinVertible (EURCV) euro stablecoin
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2024-07-01
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2023-04
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-09-23
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
- Official institutionalSociete Generale-FORGE ↗2025-06-10
- Official institutionalSociete Generale-FORGE / Bullish ↗2025-09-23
Last change 2025-09-23 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (2)
- 2023-04 · technical: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. EURCV launched (per SG-FORGE).
- 2024-07-01 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. ESMA register authorisation/notification date for SG-FORGE as EMT issuer.
regulatory note: SG-FORGE listed by ESMA as ACPR-authorised EMI issuing EMTs.
technical note: SG-FORGE: EURCV launched in April 2023.
commercial note: Distributed via third-party platforms (e.g. Bullish Europe).
Stablecoin issuance · France
Societe Generale-FORGE
USD CoinVertible (USDCV) dollar stablecoin, BNY as reserve custodian
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-09-23
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-09-23
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
- Official institutionalSociete Generale-FORGE ↗2025-06-10
- Official institutionalSociete Generale-FORGE / Bullish ↗2025-09-23
Last change 2025-09-23 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (2)
- 2025-06-10 · commercial: Announced / exploring. Launch announced; BNY reserve custodian.
- 2025-09-23 · commercial: Announced / exploring → Live — restricted / specific counterparties. First offered via Bullish Europe.
regulatory note: USDCV white paper listed in ESMA EMT register under SG-FORGE (ACPR EMI).
commercial note: First offered via Bullish Europe (Sep 2025); breadth of distribution since then not verified.
Custody & trading · United States
U.S. Bank
U.S. Bank bitcoin custody for institutional investment managers
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2025-09-03
- Official institutionalU.S. Bank ↗2025-09-03
Last change 2025-09-03 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2025-09-03 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Custody resumed as an early access program for Global Fund Services clients.
commercial note: Early access program for Global Fund Services clients; NYDIG acts as bitcoin sub-custodian.
Custody & trading · Spain
Openbank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-07-24
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-07-24 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-07-24 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · United Kingdom
Standard Chartered
Deliverable spot bitcoin and ether trading for institutional clients
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-07-15
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-07-15
- Official institutionalStandard Chartered ↗2025-07-15
Last change 2025-07-15 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2025-07-15 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Spot trading launched for institutional clients.
regulatory note: Standard Chartered describes itself as an FCA-registered cryptoasset service provider; the FCA register was not reviewed.
commercial note: Institutional clients via the UK branch.
Custody & trading · Spain
BBVA
Bitcoin and ether trading and custody in the BBVA app (Spain)
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-03-05
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-07-04
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-07-04
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
- Official institutionalBBVA ↗2025-07-04
Last change 2025-07-04 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (2)
- 2025-03-05 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Article 60 notification recorded by ESMA.
- 2025-07-04 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Available to all adult retail customers in Spain.
commercial note: All adult retail customers in Spain; execution-only, no advice.
Crypto services · Germany
N26
MiCA Article 60 notification: reception & transmission of orders
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-05-14
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-05-14 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-05-14 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · Germany
Trade Republic Bank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, order execution, reception & transmission of orders, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-04-28
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-04-28 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-04-28 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Custody & trading · Germany
Commerzbank
MiCA Article 60 notification: custody & administration, transfer services
- regulatory
- Notified (MiCA Art. 60)2025-04-07
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryEuropean Securities and Markets Authority ↗2026-10-22
Last change 2025-04-07 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-04-07 · regulatory: Notified (MiCA Art. 60). Notification recorded in ESMA interim MiCA register.
commercial note: A notification permits a credit institution to provide the services; it does not show that a product has launched.
Crypto services · Japan
SBI VC Trade (SBI Holdings)
SBI VC Trade USDC handling (first Japanese EPI exchange registration)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2025-03-04
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2025-03-12
- commercial
- Unknown
- PrimaryFinancial Services Agency (Japan) ↗2026-08-27
- Official institutionalSBI VC Trade / SBI Holdings ↗2025-03-04
Last change 2025-03-12 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (2)
- 2025-03-04 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. Registered with the Kanto Local Finance Bureau (No. 00001), per the FSA register.
- 2025-03-12 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Limited-user USDC beta announced.
regulatory note: Registered as Electronic Payment Instrument Exchange Service Provider, Kanto Local Finance Bureau No. 00001 (FSA register).
technical note: SBI announced a beta for limited users from 12 March 2025; full-scale launch not independently confirmed here.
Custody & trading · United Arab Emirates
Emirates NBD
Crypto trading on the Liv X app (with Aquanow; custody by Zodia Custody)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-03-06
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2025-03-06
- Official institutionalEmirates NBD ↗2025-04
- Official institutionalEmirates NBD / Aquanow joint press release (published by Aquanow) ↗2025-03-06
Last change 2025-03-06 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2025-03-06 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Launched on Liv X.
regulatory note: Partner licensing not reviewed for this entry.
Tokenized deposits · Switzerland
UBS
UBS Digital Cash
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Pilot / proof of concept2024-11-07
- commercial
- Unknown
- Official institutionalUBS ↗2024-11-07
Last change 2024-11-07 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2024-11-07 · technical: Pilot / proof of concept. Pilot completed.
commercial note: UBS “plans to expand and develop”; no launch reviewed.
Crypto services · Thailand
Siam Commercial Bank (SCB)
Stablecoin settlement for cross-border payments and remittances (with Lightnet)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-10-21
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-10-21
- Official institutionalSiam Commercial Bank ↗2024-10-21
- SecondaryThe Story Thailand ↗2024-10-21
- PrimaryBank of Thailand ↗2026-04-30
Last change 2024-10-21 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2024-10-21 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Sandbox graduation and commercialisation announced.
regulatory note: The Bank of Thailand lists SCB as having successfully tested and exited its cross-border payments regulatory sandbox; sandbox exit is not recorded as an authorisation.
commercial note: Described by SCB as fully commercialized after sandbox graduation in October 2024.
Tokenized deposits · Singapore
DBS
DBS Token Services (Treasury Tokens, Conditional Payments, Programmable Rewards)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2024-10-18
- commercial
- Pilot / proof of concept2024-10-18
Last change 2024-10-18 · verified 2026-10-22
Status history (1)
- 2024-10-18 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Suite introduced; Treasury Tokens pilot with Ant International.
technical note: Suite introduced; Treasury Tokens described as a pilot with Ant International.
commercial note: Release names a pilot client; general commercial availability not stated.
Custody & trading · Germany
Commerzbank
Crypto custody and trading for corporate clients (with Crypto Finance)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2024-09-19
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2024-09-19
- Official institutionalCommerzbank ↗2023-11-15
- Official institutionalCommerzbank ↗2024-09-19
Last change 2024-09-19 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2024-09-19 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Custody and trading offered to selected corporate clients in Germany.
regulatory note: Commerzbank states it was granted a crypto custody licence under the German Banking Act (KWG) on 15 Nov 2023; the BaFin register was not reviewed. See also the separate MiCA Art. 60 row.
commercial note: Initially selected existing corporate clients in Germany; BTC and ETH.
Custody & trading · United Kingdom
Standard Chartered
Standard Chartered digital asset custody (DIFC, UAE)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2024-09-10
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2024-09-10
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2024-09-10
- Official institutionalStandard Chartered ↗2024-09-10
Last change 2024-09-10 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (1)
- 2024-09-10 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Custody service launched in the DIFC with an inaugural institutional client.
regulatory note: Per Standard Chartered, the offering was granted a DFSA licence; the DFSA register entry itself was not reviewed (needs-review).
commercial note: Brevan Howard Digital named as inaugural client.
Custody & trading · Brazil
Itaú Unibanco
Bitcoin and ether trading with own custody in the íon app
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-06-10
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-06-10
- Official institutionalItaú Unibanco ↗2023-12-04
- Official institutionalItaú Unibanco ↗2024-06-10
Last change 2024-06-10 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (2)
- 2023-12-04 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Crypto trading launched via íon (initial stage).
- 2024-06-10 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties → Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Access expanded to all íon Itaú clients.
commercial note: All íon Itaú clients from 10 June 2024 (gradual rollout from Dec 2023).
Custody & trading · Germany
LBBW
Crypto custody for corporate clients (with Bitpanda)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Developing / partnership established2024-04-15
- Official institutionalLBBW ↗2024-04-15
Last change 2024-04-15 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2024-04-15 · commercial: Developing / partnership established. Partnership with Bitpanda announced; pilot planned 2H 2024.
commercial note: Partnership agreed; pilot market launch planned for 2H 2024 (later launch not reviewed).
Tokenized assets · United Kingdom / Hong Kong
HSBC
HSBC Gold Token (HSBC Orion) for retail customers
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-03-27
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2024-03-27
- Official institutionalHSBC ↗2024-03-27
Last change 2024-03-27 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2024-03-27 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. HSBC Gold Token introduced to retail customers in Hong Kong.
regulatory note: HSBC states the product is authorised by the Securities and Futures Commission; the SFC record was not reviewed.
commercial note: Retail customers in Hong Kong via HSBC Online Banking and HSBC HK Mobile App.
Crypto services · Brazil
Inter (Banco Inter)
Inter crypto trading via B3 Digitas
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2023-06-27
- commercial
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2023-06-27
- Official institutionalB3 ↗2023-06-27
Last change 2023-06-27 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (1)
- 2023-06-27 · commercial: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. Launched for a specific client base with gradual rollout.
technical note: Initially for a specific client base, rolled out gradually (per B3).
Custody & trading · Brazil
Nubank
Nubank in-app crypto trading (with Paxos)
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2022-07-26
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2022-07-26
- Official institutionalNubank ↗2022-07-26
Last change 2022-07-26 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2022-07-26 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Available to the entire Brazilian customer base; 1 million crypto customers.
commercial note: Made available to the entire customer base in Brazil at the end of June 2022.
Stablecoin issuance · Australia
ANZ
A$DC Australian-dollar stablecoin
- regulatory
- Unknown
- technical
- Live — restricted / specific counterparties2022-03-24
- commercial
- Pilot / proof of concept2022-03-24
- Official institutionalANZ ↗2022-03-24
Last change 2022-03-24 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2022-03-24 · technical: Live — restricted / specific counterparties. First A$DC payment executed on a public permissionless blockchain.
technical note: Single client transaction executed on a public permissionless blockchain.
commercial note: ANZ describes continuing to trial the capability.
Custody & trading · United Kingdom
Standard Chartered
Zodia Custody (SC Ventures / Northern Trust) — UK
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2021-07-29
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2021-07-29
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2021-07-29
- Official institutionalStandard Chartered ↗2021-07-29
Last change 2021-07-29 · verified 2026-10-23
Status history (1)
- 2021-07-29 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. FCA registration under the Money Laundering Regulations; commercial operations began.
regulatory note: FCA registration under the UK Money Laundering Regulations (an AML registration, not a full authorisation), as stated by Standard Chartered; the FCA register was not reviewed (needs-review).
Custody & trading · Switzerland
AMINA Bank
FINMA-licensed digital asset bank (formerly SEBA)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2019-08-26
- technical
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2019-11-12
- commercial
- Live — commercial, within explicit scope2019-11-12
- PrimaryFINMA ↗2019-08-26
- PrimaryFINMA ↗2019-08-26
- Official institutionalAMINA Bank ↗2019-11-12
Last change 2019-11-12 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (2)
- 2019-08-26 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. FINMA banking and securities dealer licence issued.
- 2019-11-12 · commercial: Live — commercial, within explicit scope. Operative business launched for Swiss clients.
commercial note: Swiss clients from Nov 2019 after a one-month test phase.
Custody & trading · Switzerland
Sygnum Bank
FINMA banking and securities dealer licence (digital asset bank)
- regulatory
- Approved / authorised2019-08-26
- technical
- Unknown
- commercial
- Unknown
Last change 2019-08-26 · verified 2026-10-24
Status history (1)
- 2019-08-26 · regulatory: Approved / authorised. FINMA banking and securities dealer licence issued.
Institution comparison
Top institutions by tracked initiatives. Full comparison.
| Institution | Stablecoin issuance | Tokenized deposits | Custody & trading | Crypto services | Tokenized assets |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Standard Chartered | Pilot / proof of concept | Live — restricted / specific counterparties | Live — commercial, within explicit scope | — | — |
| HSBC | Live — commercial, within explicit scope | Live — restricted / specific counterparties | — | — | Live — commercial, within explicit scope |
| BBVA | Announced / exploring | — | Live — commercial, within explicit scope | — | — |
| CaixaBank | Announced / exploring | — | Notified (MiCA Art. 60) | — | — |
| Commerzbank | — | — | Live — restricted / specific counterparties | — | — |
| Danske Bank | Announced / exploring | — | — | Live — commercial, within explicit scope | — |
| DZ BANK | Announced / exploring | — | Notified (MiCA Art. 60) | — | — |
| KBC | Announced / exploring | — | Announced / exploring | — | — |
| Nordea | Announced / exploring | — | — | Announced / exploring | — |
| Openbank | — | — | Notified (MiCA Art. 60) | Live — commercial, within explicit scope | — |
Coverage and inclusion criteria
- Included: banks, bank subsidiaries and bank-owned market infrastructure with a dated initiative in stablecoins, tokenized deposits, crypto custody/trading or tokenised settlement, backed by a regulator record or the institution’s own publication.
- Not included: media reports alone, unnamed “sources say” stories, vendor marketing about unnamed bank clients, and placeholders.
- EU MiCA rows come from ESMA’s interim MiCA register. We list a selection of notable credit institutions, not every notifying bank (ESMA’s register lists many more, e.g. German cooperative banks).
- Coverage is incomplete and global-first by intent: currently strongest for the EU, US, UK, Hong Kong, Singapore and the UAE. Latin America, Japan, India and Africa are under-covered; absence from this table means “not yet reviewed”, not “not active”.
Status definitions
- Regulatory
- — whether a regulator has authorised it (or, for EU credit institutions, recorded a MiCA Art. 60 notification — a notification, not an authorisation).
- Technical
- — whether it has been built, piloted or used in live transactions.
- Commercial
- — whether customers can actually use it, and within what scope.
Full definitions, evidence types and review rules: methodology. Spot an error? Corrections.
Institution profiles
Per-bank scorecards with initiatives, licences, partners, regulator records, timeline and a transparent readiness score: all scorecards.
Newsletter · free · one email a week
The weekly crypto-banking intelligence brief
Status changes in this tracker — announced, pilot, authorised, live — land in the brief the week they are verified. Each issue: the week’s material regulatory and bank moves, status changes in the adoption tracker, and the deadlines coming up — every fact linked to the document it comes from. No hype, no price talk.
50 quote-verified items · 56 bank initiatives tracked · 15 jurisdictions
Free sample, no signup needed: State of Crypto Banking — September 2026 (PDF) · read online
Form not loading? Subscribe on beehiiv ↗
See a sample issue · unsubscribe from any email · privacy